Bishop, Jordan, Reifer picked by Barbados Pride in CWI Professional Draft for 2021-22 season

St. John’s, Antigua, May 25 - ( -  Gifted left-arm spinner Joshua Bishop and seamer Akeem Jordan have been picked by defending regional first-class champions Barbados Pride in the West Indies Professional Players Draft to complete their 15-man contracted squad for the 2021-22 season.

Bishop, who turns 21 on Sunday and the 26-year-old Jordan, each took a five-wicket haul in this year’s CG Insurance Super50 Cup in Antigua as Barbados flattered to deceive, finishing last.

And Raymon Reifer, a lion-hearted Barbadian all-rounder, who represented former champions Guyana Jaguars ever since the introduction of the Professional Cricket League (PCL) in 2014-15, is also in the Barbados Pride squad for the first time.

Reifer, a left-arm seamer and stubborn left-hand middle to lower order batsman, celebrated his 30th birthday on May 11. Apart from 79 first-class and 69 List A matches, he has played a solitary Test match and five One-Day Internationals.

Cricket West Indies (CWI) today hosted the Draft, which took place over two rounds via a videocall with representatives from all six Territorial Board Franchises.

Several teams drafted young, emerging players to complete their squads, while others chose to boost their ranks with more experienced players.

Among those drafted are several former West Indies Under-19 players, two of whom won the ICC Under-19 World Cup in 2016. Batsmen Jyd Goolie and Kirstan Kallicharan, who were both members of the team which won the world title in Bangladesh, were drafted by their native Trinidad and Tobago to the Red Force team. The left-handed Goolie, who celebrated his 24th birthday earlier this month, has so far played four first-class matches and has a highest score of 128.

Windward Islands Volcanoes have also chosen youthful talents in Darius Martin, a fast bowler from St. Vincent and the Grenadines and Gilon Tyson, a Dominican pacer, who is also capable lower order batsman.

Guyana Jaguars opted for the more experienced Guyanese duo of wicket-keeper/batsman Anthony Bramble and fast bowler Keon Joseph, while Leeward Islands Hurricanes chose seamer, Antiguan Nino Henry and Daniel Doram from St. Maarten, a tall left-arm spinner.

Jamaica Scorpions have put their faith in Jamaicans Nicholson Gordon, the livewire fast bowler with eight first-class matches under his belt, as well as Alwyn Williams, a medium-fast bowler who bats left-handed, and who had so far made five appearances at the first-class level.

Starting July 1, 2021, a total of 90 professional cricketers inclusive of the 12 drafted today, will receive regional retainer contracts for the next 12 months.

The draft was conducted over two rounds, with each franchise allocated ninety (90) seconds to make their pick. Round one picks were completed in the reverse order of the tournament standings at the end of the 2019/2020 West Indies four-day Championship, comprehensively won by the Barbados Pride, meaning the Leeward Islands Hurricanes had the first pick. The draft was independently supervised by BDO Eastern Caribbean.

Full Squads:

Barbados Pride: Shamarh Brooks, Roston Chase, Jonathan Carter, Dominic Drakes, Shane Dowrich, Justin Greaves, Keon Harding, Chemar Holder, Kyle Hope, Shayne Moseley, Raymon Reifer, Ashley Nurse, Jomel Warrican, Akeem Jordan*, Joshua Bishop*.

Leeward Islands Hurricanes: Colin Archibald, Sheno Berridge, Keacy Carthy, Jahmar Hamilton, Amir Jangoo OHT, Kofi James, Kian Pemberton, Ross Powell Jeremiah Louis, Devon Thomas, Damion Williams, Tyron Williams, Terance Ward, Nino Henry*, Daniel Doram*.

Windward Islands Volcanoes: Sunil Ambris, Alick Athanaze, Keron Cottoy, Kenneth Dember, Larry Edward, Kavem Hodge, Ryan John, Obed McCoy, Desron Malony, Preston McSween, Kimani Melius, Denis Smith, Devon Smith, Darius Martin*, Gilon Tyson*.

Jamaica Scorpions: John Campbell, Sheldon Cottrell, Akim Fraser, Patrick Harty, Brandon King, Andre McCarthy, Jamie Merchant, Marquino Mindley, Paul Palmer, Rovman Powell, Jeavor Royal, Odean Smith, Oshane Thomas, Nicholson Gordon*, Alwyn Williams*.

Guyana Jaguars: Kelvon Anderson, Christopher Barnwell, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Shimron Hetmyer, Leon Johnson, Gudakesh Motie, Keemo Paul, Veerasammy Permaul, Romario Shepherd, Vishaul Singh, Kevin Sinclair, Nial Smith, Anthony Bramble*, Keon Joseph*.

Trinidad & Tobago Red Force: Bryan Charles, Terrance Hinds, Imran Khan, Anderson Phillip, Khary Pierre, Jason Mohammed, Uthman Muhammed, Isaiah Rajah, Denesh Ramdin, Jayden Seales, Keegan Simmons, Jeremy Solozano, Tion Webster, Jyd Goolie*, Kirstan Kallicharan*.

*Players acquired in the Professional Cricketers Draft for 2021/2022 season.

*OHT- Outside Home Territory.

We are re-designing the new website.

This temporary website will allow viewers to read the latest articles without interruption, over the next couple weeks.

Previous Article Next Article